Skip to main content

Use three practical checks before enrolling. Confirm that the school is DDS-certified for Georgia Driver Improvement, that the court, DDS, or insurer accepts the specific class format, and how and when the completion certificate will be delivered. Ask who must receive it, too. Classroom, live Zoom, and self-paced online options may not meet every requirement.

The Georgia DDS defensive driving FAQ says Driver Improvement and Defensive Driving are interchangeable terms. It describes a 6-hour course that can serve different purposes, including court orders, reinstatement, point reduction, or insurance. The checks above are a practical way to compare schools, not separate DDS requirements. The Atlanta schools below are not ranked. Each listing is assessed for what it confirms about certification, format, posted price, and certificate delivery. A listing may leave some details unclear, so confirm current terms and your court or insurer's requirements before paying.

1. Georgia DUI Schools

Georgia DUI Schools

A case that involves DUI Risk Reduction as well as defensive driving may call for more than one service. Georgia DUI Schools lists DUI Risk Reduction, court-ordered services, and defensive driving. Its website also describes the provider as DDS-approved. Confirm its current certification with Georgia DDS before enrolling, and ask the school which services apply to your case.

The provider reports more than 38 years of experience, 18 locations across metro Atlanta and Athens, online options statewide, and more than 100,000 drivers served. These are provider-reported figures, not independent verification. Its website points prospective students to Google reviews, but its listing does not include specific review quotes.

Formats and scheduling

The school lists defensive driving in a classroom, live Zoom session, or self-paced online format. DUI Risk Reduction is separate, with in-person and instructor-led virtual options. Confirm with the school and the court, DDS, or insurer that your required course accepts the format you choose. The provider's website reports classes seven days a week, including weekends. Confirm the current schedule and available dates before paying.

  • Pros: The listing covers defensive driving and DUI Risk Reduction, describes multiple course formats, and offers related services, including clinical evaluations and Victim Impact Panels. The provider's website also lists ASAM Level 1 treatment. Confirm directly with the school whether these services are available and fit your requirement.
  • Cons: The website content reviewed here does not state prices. Ask for the total cost before enrolling. The two course types have different delivery options and requirements.

Practical rule: Give the school your exact goal, such as points, reinstatement, court compliance, or insurance. Ask which course and format meet that requirement, and confirm acceptance with the relevant authority before paying.

2. A-1 Driving Schools

A-1 Driving Schools

Location choice is the main reason to look at A-1 Driving Schools, which lists 19 locations across metro Atlanta and Athens, including Atlanta, Marietta, Riverdale, Jonesboro, Kennesaw, and Sandy Springs. If you live south of the city and work north, that spread can cut a long cross-town drive.

A-1 offers a six-hour, instructor-led defensive-driving course listed at $95. It's positioned as a DDS-certified classroom course, and the provider also offers driver education, driving lessons, and DUI Risk Reduction. Published location information makes planning easier than with single-site schools.

What to confirm

  • Schedule by site: Class schedules should be confirmed with the specific location, not assumed from another branch's calendar.
  • Format limits: The virtual course isn't a substitute for a classroom course for DDS license-related purposes.
  • Certificate timing: Ask when you'll receive the certificate and whether you must deliver the original yourself.

That last question matters statewide. For point reduction, the driver must complete a certified course and submit the original certificate to DDS, as explained in the DDS points and points reduction guidance, which allows up to 7 points removed once in a 5-year period.

3. 1 ACT Driving Schools

North and northeast metro drivers will find the geography useful here. 1 ACT Driving Schools lists DDS-certified defensive-driving classes in Sandy Springs, Alpharetta, Lawrenceville, Marietta, Doraville, and Johns Creek. If you're coming from Gwinnett County or north Fulton, you may avoid driving downtown for a classroom session.

1 ACT posts a $95 price and says completion certificates are emailed the next business day. That published timeline is really helpful. Many listings don't state certificate timing at all, and a certificate that arrives after your court appearance doesn't help you.

Trade-offs

  • Pros: Multiple north metro locations, published pricing, stated certificate delivery, and related DUI Risk Reduction services.
  • Cons: You still need to confirm with your court or referring agency that this course meets its specific requirement. Insurance discounts also depend on your insurer and your eligibility.

Insurance is where drivers often overassume. Georgia Farm Bureau's safe driver FAQ describes a 10% reduction on specified coverages for eligible drivers who complete a six-hour course, remain violation-free, and submit the certificate, with the discount available for three years. Your carrier may set different terms, so call before you enroll, not after.

4. Peachtree DUI & Defensive Driving School

Peachtree DUI & Defensive Driving School

Peachtree DUI & Defensive Driving School is worth checking if you want a central Atlanta address. It lists a six-hour course at $95 at Atlanta locations including downtown and the west side, with class calendars and online registration information on its website. A downtown option can suit drivers already reporting to a Fulton County court nearby.

Published calendars help with scheduling, but the school advises calling to confirm registration. That's not a minor detail. If your deadline is tight, confirm that your seat is booked and that you're registered for the correct course type.

Watch the remote option

Peachtree also advertises remote or Zoom sessions. Don't assume a remote session satisfies a DDS license-related requirement. Ask which sessions are classroom-based and choose an eligible format for your purpose.

  • Pros: Downtown and west side addresses, published calendars, and related DUI Risk Reduction and clinical evaluation services.
  • Cons: Schedules may change, and the remote format shouldn't be assumed acceptable for DDS license matters.

Peachtree also lists other related programs, which can help if your court order bundles defensive driving with additional requirements. Bring your paperwork to the call so staff can match the course to the order.

5. Atlanta Area DUI and Driving School

Atlanta Area DUI and Driving School

A deadline is approaching, and you need a class that matches the court's order. Atlanta Area DUI and Driving School lists a six-hour Driver Improvement course for $95, with weekday and weekend registration dates. Some afternoon sessions appear on its calendar, which can help if a morning class does not fit your schedule.

The listing states the course type, fee, and available dates. It does not, by itself, confirm whether a particular session is classroom-based or remote, how the completion certificate is delivered, or whether your court or insurer will accept that session. Check those details before paying.

Confirm before enrolling

  • Choose the course required: Select Driver Improvement, not DUI Risk Reduction, if that is what your court or insurer requested.
  • Verify the session: Ask the school to confirm the location and format for your chosen date. Confirm the certificate delivery method and whether you need to collect or submit it yourself.
  • Match any separate requirement: The school also offers DUI Risk Reduction. That program is distinct from a defensive-driving course.

If you have a separate DUI Risk Reduction requirement, review the Atlanta DUI Risk Reduction program details before enrolling. The Georgia DDS DUI FAQ lists that program at $360 total, including a $100 assessment, $235 intervention course, and $25 workbook. A six-hour Driver Improvement class does not replace that separate requirement.

6. A A Affordable Eastlake DUI & Defensive Driving School

A A Affordable Eastlake DUI & Defensive Driving School

East side drivers get a specific local option here. A A Affordable Eastlake DUI & Defensive Driving School offers a six-hour defensive-driving class at its Atlanta location on Memorial Drive, listed at $95, with Tuesday and Saturday sessions on its website. Saturday availability is practical if you work weekdays in Decatur or commute into downtown.

The listing clearly identifies the course length, price, and schedule. That transparency helps. The complication is format. The website describes a remote format, and you need to confirm that format is accepted for your particular requirement before enrolling.

A remote class can be convenient and still be the wrong class. Acceptance by the requesting court, DDS, or insurer is what counts.

Pros and cons

  • Pros: Published schedule and pricing, Saturday sessions, and a clearly identified six-hour course. DUI Risk Reduction is also offered.
  • Cons: The remote format may not meet DDS requirements for license-related matters. Confirm the current schedule and certificate handling with your referring court or agency.

Ask who receives the certificate when you finish. If you must hand-carry an original to DDS or court, build that trip into your deadline.

7. 1DAYOR2NIGHTS Defensive Driving & DUI

1DAYOR2NIGHTS Defensive Driving & DUI

A driver with a court deadline may find it convenient to handle related services at one provider. 1DAYOR2NIGHTS Defensive Driving & DUI lists an address on Hammond Drive in the Sandy Springs and Atlanta area, and says it offers defensive-driving instruction by Zoom and at its facility. Confirm which format the court or agency accepts before booking. The listing does not establish that both formats meet every requirement.

The provider also lists DUI Risk Reduction and assessment services, with contact information online. Having those services in one place may simplify scheduling, but it does not settle whether the defensive-driving course will count for your case.

Confirm format before enrolling

The DDS Driver Improvement Program page says DDS does not recognize online Driver Improvement courses for matters related to a driver's license or driving privileges. Check the requirement with the agency handling your case before choosing Zoom. To compare the available Atlanta defensive driving class formats, check what each listing confirms and ask whether an in-person session is available for your deadline.

  • Pros: Facility-based instruction is listed alongside Zoom, and related assessment and DUI services may suit drivers managing multiple requirements.
  • Cons: The website does not clearly confirm current defensive-driving prices. Ask about the schedule, accepted format, total price, and certificate delivery before paying.

8. Assurance II DUI & Defensive Driving School

Assurance II DUI & Defensive Driving School

Assurance II DUI & Defensive Driving School is an Atlanta provider listed by DDS. Its website describes a six-hour Driver Improvement and Defensive Driving course with live virtual instruction. A live instructor can answer questions during class, which may suit drivers who prefer direct discussion to self-paced modules.

The school also lists DUI Risk Reduction programs. That range may help if you need more than one service, but it does not confirm that the defensive-driving course meets your particular court or license requirement. Contact the school to confirm current scheduling and ask for the price, which is not clearly posted online.

Format check

The DDS Driver Improvement Program page says DDS does not recognize online Driver Improvement courses for matters related to a driver's license or driving privileges. Since Assurance II describes live virtual sessions, confirm with DDS or the court whether that specific format is eligible for your requirement before paying. Do not assume that a live session is treated the same as a classroom course, or that court acceptance also satisfies a license-related requirement.

  • Pros: The school describes live instruction, lists both defensive-driving and DUI services, and publishes contact information.
  • Cons: Defensive-driving pricing is unclear, and acceptance of the virtual format depends on the requirement. Confirm both before enrolling.

Ask what the course covers, too. For practical value, check whether instruction addresses hazard scanning, following distance, speeding, and phone distraction in freeway merges and on arterial roads. The public listing does not confirm those topics or explain how the instructor teaches them, so request a course outline before registration.

9. Andrew Barron's Defensive Driving School

With a deadline approaching, start by checking what the school's public listing confirms. Andrew Barron's Defensive Driving School appears on the Georgia DDS listing at a Campbellton Road SW address. The listing identifies the provider and location, but does not confirm the current class schedule, price, accepted format, or certificate delivery time.

Those details affect whether the course fits your court or insurer requirement. The DDS Driver Improvement FAQ explains the program's requirements. Check the applicable rules before enrolling, and confirm directly with the school that its course and format are accepted for your purpose.

What to confirm before enrolling

Ask the school for the total price, the accepted class format, the next available class dates, and how and when it delivers the completion certificate. If a court or insurer set your deadline, confirm the certificate will arrive in time and that the course meets that specific requirement. Get the answers before paying.

The listing does not provide enough detail to compare scheduling, format, or certificate timing online. You can use this defensive driving course listing in Atlanta, Georgia as a comparison point, then ask Andrew Barron's the same practical questions. If the school cannot confirm a suitable date or accepted format, check another provider before your deadline gets closer.

10. North Buckhead Driving and DUI School

North Buckhead Driving and DUI School

A Roswell Road classroom may save Buckhead and north Atlanta drivers a cross-town trip, especially during rush hour. North Buckhead Driving and DUI School appears in DDS records at a Roswell Road address in Atlanta. Check the DDS directory to confirm its current certification before enrolling.

The school offers defensive-driving and DUI-school services. Its public listing does not confirm current class dates, prices, course format, or certificate delivery time. Call before paying and ask each question directly. If a court or insurer set your deadline, confirm that the course and certificate will meet its requirements.

Pros and cons

  • Pros: The Roswell Road location may reduce travel for nearby drivers, and the school lists both service types. Its DDS listing gives you a place to start checking certification.
  • Cons: Limited published schedule and price information makes online comparison difficult. The listing does not confirm class format or certificate timing.

Before paying any school on this list: Confirm DDS certification, accepted format, total price, and certificate delivery in one call. Record the answers and check them against your court or insurer's requirements.

Ask whether the defensive-driving course covers phone use in stop-and-go traffic and setting up navigation before entering an interstate. These are practical topics to raise for an Atlanta commute, rather than assuming the course addresses them. The Georgia distracted driving traffic safety facts provide Georgia-specific material to review, but the school's listing does not confirm which subjects its classes cover.

Atlanta Defensive Driving Schools: Top 10 Comparison

Provider Courses and formats Location and access Standout value Listed price Best suited for
Georgia DUI Schools (Recommended) DUI/Risk Reduction; defensive driving in classroom, live virtual, or self-paced online formats; clinical services 18 Atlanta- and Athens-area locations; online options statewide; classes 7 days a week 38+ years of experience, 100,000+ participants, and related services in one place Not stated Drivers seeking flexible scheduling or a broad path through education and related requirements
A-1 Driving Schools Six-hour instructor-led defensive driving; also DUI Risk Reduction 19 listed metro Atlanta and Athens locations Broad location network and published course details $95 Drivers who prefer an in-person class and location choice
1 ACT Driving Schools In-person defensive driving; also DUI/Risk Reduction and related services Several metro Atlanta locations Certificate listed as emailed the next business day $95 Drivers seeking published pricing and a prompt certificate
Peachtree DUI & Defensive Driving School Six-hour defensive driving; remote/Zoom sessions advertised; related DUI and clinical services Atlanta locations, including downtown and the west side Class calendars and online registration information $95 Atlanta drivers who want location and schedule choices; verify remote-course eligibility
Atlanta Area DUI and Driving School Six-hour Driver Improvement; also DUI Risk Reduction Registration page lists weekday and weekend sessions Published dates and course fee $95 Drivers comparing upcoming classroom sessions
A A Affordable Eastlake DUI & Defensive Driving School Six-hour defensive driving; also DUI Risk Reduction Memorial Drive, Atlanta; Tuesday and Saturday sessions listed Weekend availability and published schedule $95 Drivers seeking a Saturday option; confirm remote-format acceptance
1DAYOR2NIGHTS Defensive Driving & DUI Defensive driving at facility or via Zoom; DUI Risk Reduction and assessments Hammond Drive, Sandy Springs/Atlanta area Facility and remote instruction options are described Not easy to confirm Drivers considering Zoom or local attendance; verify format acceptance
Assurance II DUI & Defensive Driving School Six-hour defensive driving; live virtual instruction described; also DUI Risk Reduction Atlanta Live-instructor format and related DUI services Not stated Drivers seeking instructor-led virtual classes; verify eligibility for your requirement
Andrew Barron's Defensive Driving School Defensive-driving-focused provider Campbellton Road SW, Atlanta DDS-listed provider serving southwest Atlanta Not stated Nearby drivers who can confirm schedule and details directly
North Buckhead Driving and DUI School Defensive driving and DUI-school services Roswell Road, Atlanta Local option for Buckhead and north Atlanta Not stated Nearby drivers who confirm current availability and class format

Match the Course to the Requirement, Then Enroll with Confidence

A court deadline is close, and a driver has booked a self-paced course. Before paying, check whether the court accepts that format and whether the certificate will arrive in time. Enrollment problems often come from this kind of mismatch, not from the school itself.

Start by confirming the provider is DDS-certified for Driver Improvement or Defensive Driving. If the listing does not make certification clear, check with DDS. A certificate from an uncertified provider may not meet licensing, reinstatement, or court requirements, even after completing the course.

Then ask the organization that requires the class which formats it accepts. A court, DDS, and an insurer make separate decisions. Confirm with the court whether it accepts classroom, live Zoom, or self-paced online instruction. For a license matter, ask DDS. For a possible premium reduction, check directly with your insurer. A school's listing can show which formats it offers, but it cannot confirm that your court, DDS, or insurer will accept one.

Check the practical details before enrolling. Several listings above post a $95 price, while others do not state a fee. Ask what the price includes and when the certificate will be issued. Confirm whether you will receive it by email, in person, or by mail, and whether you must deliver an original to DDS or the court. If the listing leaves price or delivery timing unclear, call before paying. That can prevent a second enrollment if the first certificate misses your deadline.

Use the course to set a specific driving goal, too. Georgia's traffic-safety risks are real. The Georgia Department of Public Health motor vehicle crash data reported 1,664 traffic fatalities in Georgia in 2020, when crashes were the state's second-leading cause of injury deaths. Choose a habit you can apply on your commute, such as setting navigation before leaving a parking spot, enabling driving mode before merging onto I-75, or leaving more following distance on Peachtree Road.

Georgia DUI Schools describes classroom, live Zoom, and self-paced online options. Its benefits of defensive driving and enrollment details page can help you review the available formats, but confirm acceptance with the organization requiring your course before registering. Keep your citation or court paperwork handy when you call. Enroll only after you know the format meets the requirement and the certificate can arrive before your deadline.

If you need defensive driving for a court deadline, point reduction, or insurance requirement in metro Atlanta, Georgia DUI Schools also lists DUI Risk Reduction, clinical evaluations, and Victim Impact Panels. Confirm which services and course format your case requires, then check the school's current schedule and enrollment details before paying.

Leave a Reply